A Fine Memoir: A Fine Romance by Candice Bergen

At its core, Candice Bergen relates her romance with late husband Louis Malle and her daughter’s life in A Fine Romance. She talks about being an independent woman who falls in love with an equally independent man and the challenges of their lives on separate continents and raising a daughter while they both had full time jobs.

Overall, this book was so well-written it made me really happy I selected it from the library’s Overdrive program. Once I got into it, it was a very quick read. Bergen is someone I respect, so getting a look into her life felt a little more intimate than I was expecting. It was eye-opening to read as a grown woman, which helped me relate to Bergen in a different manner than I did when Murphy Brown was on the air. It was wonderful to hear that Bergen found another romance (and a happy ending) after Malle’s passing, and that she still has a strong bond with her daughter.

If you want to support this blog at no additional cost to you, please order via this Kindle link or paperback link. Thanks!

Who would read this: Fans of Murphy BRown or Miss congeniality or view from the top, fans of celebrity memoir.

Time to Read: 7 hours, because it took a while to get into it.
Rating: 4.5/5 stars.

Funny Story: i was a huge murphy brown fan growing up, so it was great that this gave a little more information into the series.

Final thoughts: while this was a deep read, it was definitely a good read–do not be put off by the depth of the beginning of the novel.

Author: gothamgal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *