Capturing the Moment: A Review of Gotham Academy Vol 3: Yearbook GothamGal is a devoted comic fan. Reading comics from an early age (TinTin, Archie, Katie Keene & much more), she has recently revisited her old interest and is branching out into the streets of unread comics and graphic novels! While she favors DC Comics, Marvel is slowly winning her over—but Vertigo, Image & IDW have so many new things to offer, she might just say she’s a comic fan. She fights for literature, education & the right for ALL to read comics!

 

Olive gives Maps a scrapbook when the Yearbook committee summarily dismisses the later because she’s been in too many clubs this year. In order to fill that scrapbook, they start collecting stories about all of their teachers. Whoa, wait–teachers have lives?

Really, seeing the teacher’s lives after hours (or sometimes DURING school hours) is a concept tv shows and movies use. To their detriment, they do not have amazing artists (like Katie Cook, whose story is really cute) to tell their stories. Gotham Academy Vol 3: Yearbook is successful due mostly to its media. The tangible pages to turn help the reader go through the book like they would a yearbook or scrapbook. I loved seeing what happens to the professors at Gotham Academy after hours.

Who would read this: Fans of Gotham Academy, Anime fans (the art varies), young adults

Time to Read: 1 hour
Rating: A solid 4 stars.

Funny Story: I debated this for a while because of the concept that I ended up enjoying it. And, yes, I went to Yearbook ‘camp’ in high school.

Final thoughts: This is a great book, and I feel like it is one of those ‘memory’ type episodes of a tv show. I’m anxious for 2nd semester! 

If you’re interested in picking up this book, and want to support this blog at no additional cost to you, please consider purchasing Gotham Academy Vol 3: Yearbook via this Amazon link.

Author: gothamgal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *