Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Once Upon a Masquerade by Tamara Hughes. Please note, I was provided a copy of this book by publisher, Entagled Publishing in exchange for my honest review–I will be giving you my honest opinion of the book–and let me tell you, I loved it!

Right from the start, there is a sense of this story having parallels to Cinderella–and boy, do I love a fairy tale. But what’s different in Once Upon a Masquerade is that author Tamara Hughes artfully and realistically injects this tale into American history.

The Astors and Vanderbilts occupy New York during the Guilded Age, and while America is up and coming and THE place to be, the class distinction is still present, uncomfortably so. While trying to help out her father (and herself) by posing as someone she is clearly not, Rebecca gets on the radar of the handsome ‘sailor’ Christopher, whom happens to confuse her with a person of interest in a murder case.

Their passion is undeniable, but something keeps holding Christopher back, even as he is drawn to her and gets to know her in the most intimate way.

Tamara Hughes creates a believable story, with great pacing and an even better romance–while I wasn’t certain of virtue, I can understand that in passion, lots of things go out the window. Spoiler alert–if you’re anything like me, you’ll love how these two get together and are attracted to one another like magnets.

I was floored by how awesome I found this book to be–it was so clearly written and the characters were so well fleshed out that I read this in one sitting, and I only regret it’s ending. The take on a gilded age Cinderella was an interesting concept, and I love that the scene was so well set. I could see the parallels of this story in modern life as well.

With the interest in the Gilded Age (this takes place a good 15 years before Downtown Abbey), I would recommend this to anyone interested in reading a fresh take on a classic tale of someone who wants to be someone else for a night and ends up finding so much more…

About the Book

EBook: 293 pages

Release Date: February 10, 2014

ISBN: 978-1622664511

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble


New York City, 1883

A Prince Charming meets his match…
Self-made shipping magnate Christopher Black first spies Rebecca Bailey at a masquerade ball and is captivated by her refreshing naiveté and sparkling beauty. She’s a stark contrast to the hollow behavior of the ton and the guile of his former fiancée, but the closer he gets to her secrets, the further she pushes him away.

A Cinderella with a secret…
Rebecca is drawn to the charismatic Christopher from the first, but she cannot risk him discovering that she is really a housemaid impersonating an heiress. Her father’s life depends on it.

A Happily Ever After that could never be…
When Christopher’s investigation of the murder of his best friend leads him straight to Rebecca, he fears his ingénue may be a femme fatale in disguise.  Now he must decide if he can trust the woman he’s come to love, or if her secrets will be his downfall.

 

About Tamara:

A small town girl with a big imagination, Tamara Hughes had no idea what to do with her life. After graduating from college, she moved to a big city, started a family and a job, and still struggled to find that creative outlet she craved. An avid reader of romance, she gave writing a try and became hooked on the power of exploring characters, envisioning adventures, and creating worlds. She enjoys stories with interesting twists and heroines who have the grit to surmount any obstacle, all without losing the ability to laugh. To learn more, stop by her website: www.tamarahughes.com. You can also find her on:

 

Website/Twitter/Facebook/Goodreads/Amazon Author Page

 

Giveaway Details:

1 $25 Amazon Gift Card US Only

3 eBooks of ONCE UPON A MASQUERADE International

Rafflecopter Code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rafflecopter link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTIzODliYTI4ZTEzMGVjODBhNzA2MmFmMTU3YWM3OjE1Mw==/

&http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTIzODliYTI4ZTEzMGVjODBhNzA2MmFmMTU3YWM3OjE1Mw==/

Tour Schedule

Week 1:

2/10/2014- The Passionate BookwormsReview

2/10/2014- Night Owl ReviewsGuest Post

2/11/2014- Dandelionn Wine Book BlogReview

2/11/2014- HEA Romances With a Little Kick– Guest Post

2/12/2014- The Reading AddictReview

2/12/2014- 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, & Sissy, Too!Interview

2/12/2014- Lola KarnsGuest Post

2/13/2014- Kate’s Book LifeReview

2/13/2014- Book LiaisonGuest Post

2/14/2014- Army Wife ReviewsReview

2/14/2014- Bending The SpineInterview

 

Week 2:

2/17/2014- Always ReidingReview

2/17/2014- Book FlameGuest Post

2/18/2014- Stitch Read CookReview

2/18/2014- Reading Between the Wines  – Guest Post

2/19/2014- Bookgirl KnittingReview

2/19/2014- Manga Maniac CaféInterview

2/20/2014- Fab Fantasy FictionReview

2/20/2014- Imagine a WorldInterview

2/21/2014- lilybloombooksReview

2/21/2014- Fade Into FantasyInterview

 

 

 

Author: gothamgal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

37 thoughts on “Review: Once Upon A Masquerade by Tamara Hughes

  1. Sounds like a great book and right up my alley! Glad to find you in my Blogelina group!

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm
  2. The giveaway sounds amazing!

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 5:06 pm
  3. Sounds like a great book. I just wish I had more time to read….maybe some day when the children get a little bigger. 🙂

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 5:09 pm
  4. I’m not one for romance-ish novels normally, but I DO love some historical fiction. The setting of this book could definitely tip it into a “must read” for me.

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 5:50 pm
  5. I’ll keep this book in mind – it’s been a long time since I’ve had a compelling read. Thanks for the review.

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 5:52 pm
  6. I’m with Natalie V. I’m not much of romance reading, but there does seem to be enough historical fiction that I would be interested in taking a look.

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 5:56 pm
  7. This sounds like a very interesting read! I loved reading romance-centered stories growing up (I was a pretty big Meg Cabot fan for years), but with my time as limited as it has been lately, I never seem to read anything but parenting books. I definitely get tired of the far-fetched stories out there, so I’m intrigued after hearing this is a more realistic fairytale. Thank you so much for sharing! I’ll be looking this up.

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 7:19 pm
  8. I’m like you- if I love a book I like to delve right in and have a hard time putting it down. I enjoyed your review and just might have to pick up a copy. A well- written, candid review. I look forward to being introduced to more great reads!

    Posted on February 18, 2014 at 7:36 pm
  9. I’ve been reading a ton of non-fiction lately and I’ve been craving a good fiction read. You just gave me my next book! I’m super excited to read this story for myself and what little girl doesn’t love Cinderella?! 😉 This is also probably the most genuine and honest book review that I’ve ever read. Great well-written post and thank you for sharing!

    Posted on February 19, 2014 at 4:47 am
  10. Awesome! I’m a book blogger so a book review is always a fabulous read!!!

    -Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Posted on February 19, 2014 at 6:49 am
  11. What a fun blog you have! I love reading book review and getting a *hint* about something new. I adore Downton Abbey and Once Upon A Masquerade sounds interesting. Glad I found you!

    ~ Megin of VMG206

    Posted on February 19, 2014 at 6:57 am
  12. Love your blog! I’m a high school librarian by day, so I’m always looking for new books my students might like. Stopping by from Blogelina Commentathon.

    Posted on February 19, 2014 at 9:41 am
  13. Sounds great! I am an avid reader; always have been. And I love a good romance!

    Posted on February 19, 2014 at 11:45 am
  14. Great post! Like someone mentioned in the previous comments, I love reading book reviews because you get someone’s second opinion before investing the time to get the book. Will have to check these out ASAP!
    -Stacey
    GluedToMyCraftsblog.com

    Posted on February 19, 2014 at 12:32 pm
  15. This sounds like a great read for sure. I loved learning about the author as well. Thank you for telling us about this book that we should add to our to read list.

    Posted on February 19, 2014 at 7:10 pm
  16. Thanks for sharing your review! I don’t think you can judge a book by its cover – but sometimes that’s all you have to go on. So, I love reading other people’s reviews of books!

    Posted on February 20, 2014 at 8:54 am
  17. I love reading book reviews – it’s so fun to find new books. This one looks good – I’ll have to add it to my library list.

    Posted on February 20, 2014 at 12:10 pm
  18. You have a busy schedule. I’m not much of a fiction reader, but your post is excellent.

    Posted on February 21, 2014 at 12:48 am
  19. Sounds like my kind of book so I’m bookmarking this post and I thank you much! Always looking for something new to read and I loved your review! 😀

    Posted on February 21, 2014 at 7:02 am
  20. Looks like a great book – thanks for sharing!

    Posted on February 21, 2014 at 9:07 am
  21. Ooh..sounds like a great read! So many wonderful books,so little time!

    Posted on February 21, 2014 at 11:58 am
  22. Wow! You do a great job of describing the important details! And who doesn’t love Cinderella’s story?! I’m going to have to put this on my list of books to read. Thanks for the great review!

    Posted on February 21, 2014 at 1:08 pm
  23. You do a great job of describing the book and promoting it! I’m going to take note of this one and hopefully get time to read it!

    Posted on February 21, 2014 at 3:55 pm
  24. Wow, Tamara has a very interesting promotion strategy here with her (is it first?) book. Which sounds delightful, by the way. Fleshed-out characters is an issue I am facing in my own half-hearted attempt to actually finish a novel…

    Posted on February 22, 2014 at 9:28 am
  25. This sounds like a really great book. I read alot, but am more into biographies. You did a really great job on being descriptive about important details that would make one interested in reading this book.

    Posted on February 22, 2014 at 7:25 pm
  26. This sounds like an interesting book. I will have to check it out!

    Posted on February 23, 2014 at 5:05 am
  27. Sounds like a fun read!

    Posted on February 23, 2014 at 7:55 am
  28. I haven’t been doing much reading lately (stay so busy!), but this sounds like a light, fun read.

    Posted on February 23, 2014 at 11:03 am
  29. ALWAYS looking for great reads. And because I don’t have much time to spare, I only want to spend it reading good books. Thanks for the review.

    Jennifer @ The Jenny Evolution

    Posted on February 23, 2014 at 5:01 pm
  30. Thanks for this book review. Always nice to read about new books.

    Posted on February 24, 2014 at 2:11 am
  31. Thanks for this book review 🙂

    Posted on February 24, 2014 at 2:40 am
  32. This was great!! I definitely want to read this book. It’s been a while since I read something engrossing, and I love the concept of hidden identity. It sounds great!! Plus I love supporting new authors. Thanks for sharing! 😀

    Posted on February 24, 2014 at 7:39 am
  33. Isn’t Tamara the author who wrote “Easy”?

    Posted on February 24, 2014 at 9:45 am
  34. It does sound like an interesting book. I have never been one to read book reviews but found yours to be quite interesting. This does sound like a story I would enjoy reading. I love the juxtaposition between Cinderella and the gilded age tycoons. On my way to enter your Giveaway now! Thanks 🙂

    Posted on February 24, 2014 at 1:56 pm
  35. Sounds like a great summer read! I’ll check it out

    Posted on February 24, 2014 at 3:14 pm
  36. not sure if this is quite my style but great idea to do a series of book reviews like this. I do love books.

    Posted on February 25, 2014 at 8:18 pm
  37. Looks interesting. I am a Downtown Abbey fan and love the historical period.

    Posted on February 26, 2014 at 7:54 pm